Praxis Manned Spaceflight Log 1961 - 2006

Tim Furniss and David Shayler with Michael D. Shayler

Praxis Manned Spaceflight Log 1961 - 2006 Almost 50 years ago, Yuri Gagarin moved the world into a new era of exploration, that of manned spaceflight. Over the next five decades and over 250 missions later, almost 500 individuals from countries around the globe have followed him into space. Yet only 27 astronauts have ventured beyond Earth orbit and then only as far as the Moon. As we plan for a return to the Moon and onwards to Mars, it is timely to look back at these missions and review their successes and achievements, as well as their setbacks.

Praxis Manned Spaceflight Log is a comprehensive guide to all the space missions, from Gagarin to the ISS and the latest Chinese Shenzhou missions. A chronological sequence of orbital flights includes facts on the sub-orbital and ballistic flights that are a fundamental part of the quest for space. Also featured are: This book is an invaluable companion to the range of manned spaceflight books from Springer-Praxis.

Table of Cotents

Authors' Preface
List of illustrations
  1. Reaching the Heavens
  2. The Quest for Space
  3. The Orbital Programmes
  4. The First Decade: 1961--1970
  5. The Second Decade: 1971--1980
  6. The Third Decade: 1981--1990
  7. The Fourth Decade: 1991--2000
  8. The Fifth Decade: 2001--2006
Appendix A The Log Book 1961--2006
Appendix B Cumulative Space Flight and EVA Experience
Appendix C Future Flight Manifest 2006--2011 (as at 1 October 2006)
Appendix D A Selected Timeline

Extent: 872 pages; approximately 440 black and white photographs
Binding: Paperback
Publication Date: January 2007
ISBN: 978-0-387-34175-0

Praxis Publishing - Leaders in Scientific Publishing © 2008 All rights reserved